Vegan Wine:- Everything You Need To Know About It[2021]

Vegan Wine:- Everything You Need To Know About It[2021]

Vegan wine is the most popular type of wine in the world.

Not all kinds of wines are created equal. And there is a good reason behind it. If you consume a glass or two of below-average low-quality wine, you will know the difference. But it is not just about the quality of wine that matters. If you are a vegan, you need to know what’s in your wine glass, right.

vegan wine

You may be wondering did it is possible? Did there is vegan-friendly wine available? In this article on terminalnets, you will get all the answers to your question.

Let’s Begin!!

Wait a minute, wine is not vegan?

But the wine is created with the fermentation of grape juice; how can it not be vegan? Yes, you are right, and there is no doubt, but the modern winemaking process may involve the use of certain animal-derived products. The commonly used process goes from crushing the grapes to fermenting the grape juice to bottling the wine. “We’ve been using bentonite to make fines for years, but we didn’t really think about it. However, before wine filling, it needs to be filtered as it has a lot of suspended matter inside of it. It could come from grape skin, stems, and pulp to dead yeast cells, proteins, tannins, and many more.

vegan wine

“The best filtering mechanism that uses to filter wine is to use egg white, which acts as a coagulant and attracts all these particles. All these particles eventually settle at the bottom and are removed. When these particles contact with egg whites which makes wines ‘ non-vegan,’ but the final product(wine) contains no traces of egg at all, ” explains Vishal Kadakia, founder of Wine Park, an e-commerce website for wines. This process is critical to get the pure wines that we are used to drinking.

Wineries use bentonite as an alternative to egg white to make vegan wine. It is a type of absorbent clay that attracts proteins and other particulate matter present in wine and helps in fining. “Most of the wineries have been using bentonite for fining over the years, but they didn’t really think about it. It was the only time when the (Mumbai-based) restaurant Santé Spa Cuisine asked us a couple of years ago if we could make vegan wines for them, and we realized that we can very well classify our wine as vegan,” says co-founder, and director, Kiran Patil – sales and marketing team of Reveilo Wines. Since the year 2019, Reveilo Wines start display a green dot on the back label of bottle indicating that their wine is 100% vegan-friendly.

The taste test

So the question does vegan wine taste different? “There are certain kinds of wines that are unfiltered, so does that mean they are vegan by default. For other types of wines, there is no need to mention on the bottle whether or not they use egg whites as this is irrelevant to the taste. But obviously, there’s a taste difference between filtered and unfiltered wines. However, wines filtered with bentonite versus white egg almost taste the same,” says Kadakia. Nowadays, the moment of vegan is getting stronger and stronger day-by-day, and Kadakia says that he has not seen a huge interest or demand by Indians for vegan wines as yet.

You may like to read:- How To Use Night Affirmations? For Better Sleep[2021]

If you like our article, tell in the comment section down below.


health